Home Page

Printer-friendly versionSend by email

10 Steps to Master Care Transitions includes MSNCB President Mimi Haskins in their feature on care coordination and transition management. Read More.

MSNCB and AMSN Featured in J & J Newsletter

Some of your favorite MSNCB and AMSN colleagues were interviewed for the March issue of Nursing Notes, a newsletter published by Johnson & Johnson, which focuses on the med-surg nursing specialty! Read more

Ambulatory Care and Medical-Surgical Nursing Organizations Collaborate on First-Ever Certification Exam for Care Coordination and Transition Management

In an exciting leap forward to ensure patient care is safely and efficiently coordinated among qualified providers, the American Academy of Ambulatory Care Nursing (AAACN) and the Medical-Surgical Nursing Certification Board (MSNCB) announce their collaboration on a Care Coordination and Transition Management (CCTM) certification exam. Read more


You may obtain your CMSRN by taking a multiple-choice exam in paper and pencil or computer-based testing formats. Click here for exam dates and locations.

Learn about Certification




CMSRNs may become recertified every 5 years by meeting continuing nursing education requirements or by taking the exam. Click the tab for information on how to recertify.

Learn about Recertification

The CMSRN exam is accredited by the Accreditation Board for Specialty Nursing Certification (ABSNC), formerly the ABNS Accreditation Council.ABSNC: The Accreditation Board for Specialty Nursing Certification, formerly the ABNS Accreditation Council